Kombucha

I was not excited with my first bottle of Kombucha…  My friend Emily bought me a bottle at Jivamukti Yoga center a couple of years ago. She was super excited about showing me this new amazing drink! I was kinda scared… What was the deal with that explosion it made when I opened the bottle!? And what was that strange stuff floating around on the top!?… Was I supposed to drink that or go around it!?… I drank half that day…

I think Kombucha is a drink that most people have to kinda get used to. Today, I love it and find it super refreshing! There are so many brands also, and now you can get it on tab many places. So cool. And if you really wanna go all the way, why not make your own! Check out Kombucha Brooklyn and order your own home brewing kit!

Thank you Emily for getting me hooked!:-)

Tagged: , ,

3 thoughts on “Kombucha

  1. Vincent Rotolo August 11, 2011 at 6:39 pm Reply

    Right?! I always wondered what that funny floating stuff is anyway?? Do you know??

    • mytreatlife August 11, 2011 at 8:20 pm Reply

      Good question..:-) I’ve been trying to figure out what the slimy stuff actually is, but its been pretty difficult to get a straight answer from anywhere! Here is what I found: First, you can totally drink the slimy stuff, and its probably extra good for you:-) Kombucha is a natural ferment that is brewed with a mixture of tea, sugar, and a Kombucha “mother”, or “scoby” as its called. The brown stringy gooey bits are strains of the culture, same stuff that gathers at the bottom of the bottle… When you make a kombucha brew, the scoby will grow a new layer on the surface that you can either leave on the scoby, or peel off to create a new brew….. Hope that answers your question…:-)

  2. provera online October 25, 2011 at 11:52 pm Reply

    Thank you so much for this blog! Information that I found here was very usefull for me=)

Leave a Reply

