Bee Pollen

Here is a thing you might wanna start adding to your smoothie in the morning. Or sprinkle it on your cereal. You probably know about it already, but have you eaten it yet? Its bee pollen, and, its kinda amazing when you know what it actually is…:-)

It comes in little granules or pellets and comes from the pollen nectar from the flowers, you know, the dusty stuff that you see on blossoms in the spring. The honey bee collects the pollen with their legs. The pollen literally gets stuck to the legs, and thats how the bee carries it to the hive. Pollen is food for bees and they bring it back to share with their hives in order for them to make honey.

We humans just love honey… But more people should try adding bee pollen to their diet too, as a supplement  to their multi vitamin. Bee pollen is made of 25% protein and contains over a dozen vitamins, 28 minerals, 11 enzymes and co-enzymes, and 14 fatty acids. So its pretty amazing stuff…

Bee pollen is also taken to prevent hay fever. Some people believe that eating 1-2 tsp of bee pollen daily, will help to build resistance to their allergy. But if you have severe hay fever, be careful! Before you start chowing down on bee pollen like it was candy, you might wanna take a few grains and see how you react first:-) To get the full benefits of the use of bee pollen for allergy relief, you have to buy LOCAL bee pollen from the area you live in. You have to expose your immune system to the same pollens that will be in the air when allergy season comes.

I bought my first jar of bee pollen the other day. I dont have any allergies that I know of, but I like that long list of “good stuff” it contains. Im gonna go have myself a teaspoon of those yellow little soft rocks right now!:-)

Tagged: , , ,

7 thoughts on “Bee Pollen

  1. Angelique August 12, 2011 at 12:27 am Reply

    Hey, you stated in a much more direct way what I was trying to communicate, thanks, I will recommend your site to my friends.

    My site:
    Rachat de credit rachatdecredit.net

  2. vimax capsule August 22, 2011 at 8:28 am Reply

    Ive been meaning to read this and just never obtained a chance. Its an issue that Im very interested in, I just started reading and Im glad I did. Youre a excellent blogger, 1 of the finest that Ive seen. This weblog undoubtedly has some information on topic that I just wasnt aware of. Thanks for bringing this stuff to light.

    • mytreatlife August 23, 2011 at 6:02 pm Reply

      Thank you so much. It feels good to hear people out there are actually reading what I write:-) Makes me keep up the work!

  3. Pattitt August 30, 2011 at 5:02 am Reply

    I was just searching for this information for a while. After six hours of continuous Googleing, at last I got it in your website. I wonder what’s the Google’s problem that does not rank this type of informative sites closer to the top. Generally the top sites are full of garbage.

  4. Cathrine September 20, 2012 at 3:10 pm Reply

    Oh, I thought this was a vegan blog, I was wrong, since bee products isn’t vegan. But I have found lots of nice, vegan recipes I’m going to try out. Love your blog. 🙂

    • mytreatlife November 28, 2012 at 6:33 pm Reply

      No this is only a 90% vegan blog I would say….:-) Im glad you were still able to find some recipes you liked!

Leave a Reply

