Vegan Cinnamon Rolls

The cinnamon roll is a classic. I remember making them all throughout my childhood. I used to come home from school and bake several times a week. I would for the most part either make pancakes or cinnamon rolls, then curl up in front the TV and watch 90210 reruns… Oh what an easy life:-)

These days my cinnamon roll recipe have changed. I now use whole wheat, Earth Balance and palm sugar. They are still delicious and comforting, but will leave you with a better feeling in the belly and mind:-) Even after 2…..

Vegan Cinnamon Rolls

Dough

  • 1 package dry yeast
  • 1/2 tsp Coconut Palm Sugar
  • 1/2 Cup  (150 ml) lukewarm water
  • 1/2 Cup (150 ml) Soymilk
  • 1/3 cup (50 g) Coconut Palm sugar
  • 1/3 Cup (65g)  Earth Balance Margarine
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp Ground flaxseeds
  • 2 3/4 Cups (440) Whole Wheat Flour

Dough Filling

  • 1/4 Cup Earth Balance Margarine, melted
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 Tbs Coconut palm sugar
  • 3 1/2 tsp Cinnamon

Pan Sauce

  • 1,5 Tbs Earth Balance Margarine, melted
  • 1/4 cup (40 g) Coconut Palm Sugar

In a large bowl, or in a Kitchen Aid, mix water and palm sugar. Sprinkle yeast over water and let stand for 5 min.

In a small pot combine soy milk, palm sugar, margarine and salt, and heat for a couple of minutes till lukewarm. (Test with finger to make sure its not too warm. You have to be able to keep your finger in the mixture without burning yourself.) Add to yeast mixture and stir to combine.

Add flax seeds and the whole wheat flour and stir to get everything incorporated. Kneed on the table by hand for 5 min, or 3 min in a Kitchen Aid.

Leave dough in the bowl, cover with plastic wrap and let stand for 1st rise for 1 hour, in warm spot

To make the pan sauce, melt the Earth Balance and poor it into a pan/cookie tray. Use a brush to get the whole pan covered. Sprinkle with the palm sugar. Set aside.

On a lightly floured surface, roll dough to 30×18. For the filling, brush the dough with melted earth balance and sprinkle with palm sugar. Roll the dough and cut into 16 buns. Place them in the prepared pan, and cover with a towel. Place in a warm spot for 2nd rise, for 30 min. Turn on oven to 350 degrees.

Bake the cinnamon rolls 18 min in the middle of the oven. Cool on rack.

The cinnamon rolls are best when they are still a bit warm, because of the whole wheat. I recommend to heat them up a bit in the oven or microwave, if you are eating them the day after baking.

Tagged: , , ,

6 thoughts on “Vegan Cinnamon Rolls

  1. Michelle September 1, 2011 at 12:05 am Reply

    Your point is valueble for me. Thanks!

    My blog:
    rachat de credit rachatdecredit.net

  2. lexapro September 16, 2011 at 11:35 am Reply

    You have really interesting blog, keep up posting such informative posts!

    • Bobs September 30, 2011 at 8:04 pm Reply

      TYVM you’ve svoled all my problems

  3. Cash October 2, 2011 at 4:18 am Reply

    Alright alright alright that’s exaclty what I needed!

  4. carnival cruise baltimore October 26, 2011 at 4:59 am Reply

    Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any suggestions for first-time blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

    • mytreatlife October 26, 2011 at 5:46 pm Reply

      Hi! Im happy you like my blog:-) Thanks! Im actually new at this whole blogging thing myself… But, the only advice I think I have, is to make sure you write about something you are passionate about! Otherwise you will go dead in it after a couple of posts….. Please keep coming back and check out my site. And I will certainly check out yours!:-)

Leave a Reply

