Vegan Elderberry Soup

Just within this last week, fall has definitely hit NY, and I like it!:-) I love to step out of bed and have to wear warm socks on the cold floor… And I love lighting a candle on the breakfast table to spread extra morning coziness…:-)
This is also when my craving for soup stars. I like me a good soup… And even more when it’s a sweet dessert one:-)…
I had a lot of elderberry soup growing up. It’s the perfect dessert on a cold fall evening…

Elderberry Soup

  • 2,2 lb (1 kilo) fresh elderberry
  • 4 cups (1 liter) water
  • 2 small apples, peeled, cored and cut into 1/4 inch slices
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 3,5 oz (100g) sugar in the raw


Thoroughly wash the berries several times. Cut of the biggest stems.
In a large pot, bring water, berries and cinnamon stick to a boil. Let it boil softly for 20 min.

Using a cheese cloth or piece of linen, strain the liquid from the berries into a large bowl. Discharge the stems, skins and cinnamon.


Poor the juice back into the pot with almost all of  the sugar and the apples. Bring to a boil again. Let it simmer for 5 min, and add sugar to taste.
Serve warm.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Vegan Elderberry Soup

  1. Homa October 10, 2011 at 10:43 am Reply

    I have never had elderberries but this looks beautiful!

  2. kahlua drink October 18, 2011 at 9:58 am Reply

    Hey, Thanks for posting this. You have made some really interesting point in this article. I like it and I’ll keep coming back. Bye!

  3. Fun games October 22, 2011 at 9:21 pm Reply

    If you are open to having a guest blog poster please reply and let me know. I will provide you with unique content for your blog, thanks.

    • mytreatlife October 26, 2011 at 5:55 pm Reply

      Yes I am! What would you like to tribute with?:-)

  4. free plr November 11, 2011 at 9:58 am Reply

    plr hello there,
    just discovered you on yahoo. Excellent article, I was just thinking around some thing similar. May begin blogging myself! Thank you plr articles

Leave a Reply

